Urban Bluebells: done and dusted

In a deluge…. the installation has come to an end. This morning I removed the bluebells from the WW Gallery Patio and moved them all over to a lovely slope under a canopy of plane trees on Hackney Downs. With the help of Eugene, Anna, Laura, Leo and Francesca the bluebells were gently transferred into planting holes. Looking a little worse for wear, hopefully some of the flowers will now spread some seed and some of the tubers will survive the rigours of flowering and having been transplanted twice. I like to think that in the future a little colony of bluebells will thrive here.

Like German artist Joseph Beuys, who described his planting of 7000 trees in Kassel, Germany in the 1980s as ‘art of the social sculpture’ I am interested to explore ways of bringing creative participation to people, even unwittingly.  I had imagined that had lots of people joined in with the planting that many might not even have realised that the plants had already had a former life installed at the WW Gallery Patio. Additionally I hope that the message behind the piece – that of the threat to the native bluebell from hybridisation with the more robust Spanish bluebell and from the effects of earlier spring occurrence due to our changing climate may be communicated.  As it was, the terrible weather put off most coming along, which is a great shame as it would have made for a lovely community event. I am grateful for those that did join me, as well as my virtual followers and all those who have wished me well.

