LANDSCAPE OF CHANGE – an exhibition

So what is it all about?

I have been painting landscapes for 14 years. In particular I find I am drawn to the urban/industrial meets rural/wild area of the Hackney and Walthamstow Marshes on the Lea Valley, near to our house in East London. I record it with photography, painting, drawing and my memory.

Whenever I return to Australia I am struck by the gravity of the environmental issues faced by this ancient continent. Water, fire – elemental. The realities of climate change seem to be more tangible there and yet the obvious resources of sunshine and wind are still not being exploited sufficiently to provide Australia with a way out of the shadow of its massive carbon footprint. The legacy of an other plentiful resource, coal.

Our recent visit in December ’09 has inspired my to respond to how I felt, being reminded that while Europe is lulled into a false sense of security by an especially cold winter, things are not so everywhere.

In the last week of April ’10 I will be showing my work at Basket House Village Universe in Stoke Newington, London. More details will be posted as the date approaches.

Leave a Reply

